IND v SA, 1st T20I: Arshdeep, Pant, Chahar, Ashwin in playing eleven as India win toss, elect to bowl first

Thiruvananthapuram, Sep 28 (IANS) Arshdeep Singh, Rishabh Gasp, Deepak Chahar and Ravichandran Ashwin made a re-visitation of the playing eleven as India commander Rohit Sharma won the throw and chose for bowl first against South Africa in the T20I series opener at the Greenfield Global Arena in Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday.

In the wake of winning the throw, Rohit uncovered that in India’s three changes from the eleven which won the series against Australia in Hyderabad, left-arm pacer Arshdeep and left-gave hitter Gasp come in as Hardik Pandya and Bhuvneshwar Kumar have been refreshed from the series.

“It was a decent wicket when we played here last time (in 2019). Piece of green covering yet it will be a decent batting track. Vital to keep on doing what you’re doing and keep that force in this configuration. Exceptionally sound air in the gathering and we likewise need to try to check every one of the cases thus far we have been accomplishing something useful and we simply need to keep on doing that,” said Rohit.

The Indian captain added that with pacer Jasprit Bumrah having a niggle on the morning of the match, Chahar has his spot while off-spinner Ashwin replaces leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal in the eleven.

“Jasprit Bumrah whined of back torment during India’s training meeting on Tuesday. The BCCI Clinical Group evaluated him. He is administered out of the main #INDvSA T20I,” said an authority update from the BCCI through their Twitter account.

South Africa captain Temba Bavuma, playing in his most memorable worldwide match since experiencing an elbow injury in the fourth T20I match against India at Rajkot in June, conceded that he would have bowled first too assuming he had won the throw.

“Great going over the most recent few months. This is a significant series for ourselves and we need to proceed with all the great work. Folks generally partake in the India trip, the energy of the folks is up once more and ideal to be back in real life following several months. Various circumstances to Australia however as far as match practice, it is an incredible open door,” said the right-given player.

The three-match T20I series among India and South Africa is the last respective series for the two groups prior to traveling to Australia for the Men’s T20 World Cup, beginning from the following month.

Playing XIs
India: Rohit Sharma (commander), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Gasp (wicketkeeper), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar and Arshdeep Singh

South Africa: Quinton de Kock (wicket-attendant), Temba Bavuma (chief), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Mill operator, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje and Tabraiz Shamsi